BMC Members' Council

Members' Council acts as a representative body of the members, consulting with and constructively challenging the Board of Directors, and holding the Board to account on behalf of the members. Members' Council is the primary forum for members to influence the direction of the BMC.

It represents the interests of the members to the Board, and provides an intermediary forum between the Board and the members, being consulted upon decisions by the Board in relation to membership and ensuring effective communications between the Board and the members.

Its voting membership comprises locally and nationally elected representatives, and appointed representatives of specific areas or groups. Specialist Committee chairs and members of the Board of Directors can attend as observers, along with representatives from partner organisations who work closely with the BMC.

Voting members

Dominic Oughton | President (& Director)

Tarquin Shipley | Cymru North Wales Area Rep

VACANT | Cymru North Wales Area Rep

Dorian Thomas | Cymru South Wales Area Rep

VACANT | Cymru South Wales Area Rep

Dave Brown | Lakes Area Rep

VACANT | Lakes Area Rep

Olly Hicks-Pattison | London & South East Area Rep

VACANT | London & South East Area Rep

VACANT | Midlands Area Rep

Ian Wyatt | Midlands Area Rep

Jon Punshon | North East Area Rep

Jonathan White | North East Area Rep

Bill Beveridge | North West Area Rep

Andy Say | North West Area Rep (& Council Nominated Director)

Sean Milner | Peak Area Rep

Sam Harris | Peak Area Rep

Trevor Smith | South West Area Rep (& Council Nominated Director)

Philip Wilson | South West Area Rep

Martin Christmas | Yorkshire Area Rep

Richard Eden | Yorkshire Area Rep

Rose Gare-Simmons | Nationally Elected Councillor for Hill Walkers

Stuart Holmes | Nationally Elected Councillor for Indoor Climbers

Aaron Hodgson | Nationally Elected Councillor for Mountaineers

Steve Clark | Nationally Elected Councillor for Rock Climbers

VACANT | Constituency Councillor for BMC Affiliated Club members

Oli Lewis | Constituency Councillor for Mountain Training candidates

Andy Tickle | Access Management Group

Paul Justin | Clubs Committee

Paul Ratcliffe | Competition Climbing Performance Group

Mohammed Dhalech | Equity Steering Group

Guy Jarvis | Funded Partners

VACANT | Training, Youth and Walls Committee

Standing Observers

Peter Judd | Hill Walking Group

Aaron Hodgson | International Committee

Neal Hockley | Pwyllgor Cymru - Wales Committee (& Nominated Director)

Lynsey McAuley | Huts Committee

Roger Murray | Chair

Flavia Alzetta | Independent Director

Paul Ratcliffe | CEO

Martyn Hurn | Nominated Director

John Willmott | Independent Director

VACANT | Independent Director

Laura Needham | Nominated Director

Pete Salenieks | Council Nominated Director


The Memorandum of Understanding provides agreement on the way in which the Board and the Council want to work, for mutual benefit, focussing on ways of cooperation and communication to achieve the best outcomes for the BMC’s members.

DOWNLOAD: Memorandum of Understanding between Member's Council and Board